NUC List of Universities With Approved Postgraduate Programmes

NUC Notice on Approved Universities for Postgraduate Programmes.   The National Universities Commission (NUC) has observed with great concern that some Nigerian universities are running unapproved postgraduate programmes, leading to the award of Masters and PhD degrees. The Commission has also observed that some Parastatals and Institutes are awarding these same Postgraduate degrees, either on their own or through unapproved affiliations with Nigerian and foreign Universities. Such practices are not only unethical, but also antithetical to time-tested quality assurance best practices. The qualifications/ awards resulting therefrom are not recognized. national universities commision nuc logo   The Commission hereby notifies the general public that only the following universities have approval to offer postgraduate programmes at the Masters’ and Ph.D levels in Nigeria, as of Monday, January 30, 2018:

Federal Universities:

  1. Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi
  2. Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria
  3. Bayero University, Kano
  4. Federal University of Technology, Akure
  5. Federal University of Technology, Minna
  6. Federal University of Technology, Owerri
  7. Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike
  8. Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola
  9. National Open University of Nigeria, Lagos.
  10. Nigerian Defence Academy, Kaduna
  11. Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka
  12. Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife
  13. University of Abuja, Gwagwalada
  14. University of Agriculture, Abeokuta
  15. University of Agriculture, Makurdi
  16. University of Benin, Benin City
  17. University of Calabar, Calabar
  18. University of Ibadan, Ibadan
  19. University of llorin, llorin
  20. University of Jos, Jos
  21. University of Lagos, Akoka
  22. University of Maiduguri, Maiduguri
  23. University of Nigeria, Nsukka
  24. University of Port Harcourt, Port Harcourt
  25. University of Uyo, Uyo
  26. Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto.

State Universities:

  1. Abia State University, Uturu
  2. Adamawa State University, Mubi
  3. Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba-Akoko 15. Lagos State University, Ojo.
  4. Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma
  5. Anambra State University, Uli
  6. Benue State University, Makurdi
  7. Cross River University of Technology, Calabar
  8. Delta State University, Abraka
  9. Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki
  10. Ekiti State University, Ado-Ekiti
  11. Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu
  12. Imo State University, Owerri
  13. Kogi State University, Anyigba
  14. Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso
  15. Nasarawa State University, Keffi
  16. Niger-Delta University, Wilberforce Island
  17. Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-Iwoye
  18. Rivers State University of Science and Technology, Port Harcourt
  19. Umaru Musa Yar’Adua University, Katsina
  20. Gombe State University, Gombe
  21. Ibrahim Babangida University, Lapai
  22. Kano State University of Science and Technology, Wudil
  23. Kebbi State University of Science and Technology, Aliero
  24. Kwara State University Malete.

Private Universities:

  1. African University of Science and Technology, Abuja
  2. Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin (MSc only)
  3. American University of Nigeria, Yola
  4. Babcock University, Ilishan-Remo
  5. Benson Idahosa University, Benin City
  6. Bowen University, Iwo
  7. Covenant University, Ota
  8. Igbinedion University, Okada
  9. Madonna University, Okija (MSc only)
  10. Pan-African University, Lekki
  11. Redeemer’s University, Mowe, Ogun State
  12. Caleb University, Lagos
  13. Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeji-Arakeji, Osun State
  14. Nigerian Turkish Nile University, Abuja
  15. Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti, Ekiti State
  16. Lead City University, Ibadan (MSc only)
  17. University of Mkar, Mkar (MSc only).
  Employers of labour, educational institutions and other stakeholders are to note that only certificates issued by these universities, for their approved programmes, are valid for employment, further studies and other purposes. When in doubt about the status of any programme or certificate, the National Universities Commission should be contacted through Further information can also be obtained from the Commission’s website: Team Nigerian Campus Forum]]>

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.